Five Red Raiders Named to All-Big 12 Teams

Texas Tech had its most All-Big 12 first team honorees since 2005 Thursday


LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech had four Red Raiders recognized on the All-Big 12 first team for the first time in over a decade Thursday as part of the conference’s unveiling of its postseason awards.

The Red Raiders had five total selections to either the first or second teams as junior offensive lineman Jack Anderson, sophomore wide receiver Erik Ezukanma, sophomore punter Austin McNamara and senior defensive back Zech McPhearson headlined the awards as first-team honorees, while junior offensive lineman Dawson Deaton was tabbed to the second team.

It marked the second-consecutive year Tech has placed five players on either the first or second teams as McNamara was the only Red Raider to earn the honor in back-to-back seasons. Tech had not previously boasted four first-team honorees since 2005 when Taurean Henderson, Jarrett Hicks, Dwayne Slay and its now outside receivers coach Joel Filani were all selected.

For McNamara, he becomes the first Red Raider since current Indianapolis Colts offensive lineman Le’Raven Clark in 2014-15 to garner first-team accolades in back-to-back seasons. He is the first Tech specialist in the Big 12 era to do so and the seventh Red Raider overall, joining Clark, Michael Crabtree (2007-08), Filani (2005-06), Jarrett Hicks (2004-05), Kevin Curtis (1999-00) and Montae Reagor (1997-98).

This was the second All-Big 12 accolade for Anderson, who was a second-team honoree in 2018. Ezukanma and McPhearson, meanwhile, were awarded for the first time in their respective careers.

Tech also had 10 other Red Raiders recognized as honorable mention selections for receiving a vote by the panel of conference coaches. The list included sophomore defensive lineman Tony Bradford Jr., junior wide receiver KeSean Carter, junior quarterback Henry Colombi, senior defensive back DaMarcus Fields, senior defensive lineman Eli Howard, senior linebacker Riko Jeffers, junior linebacker Krishon Merriweather, senior linebacker Colin Schooler, sophomore running back SaRodorick Thompson and sophomore offensive lineman Weston Wright.

Colombi and Merriweather picked up votes for Offensive and Defensive Newcomer of the Year, respectively.


First Team: Jack Anderson (OL), Erik Ezukanma (WR), Austin McNamara (P), Zech McPhearson (DB)

Second Team: Dawson Deaton (OL)

Honorable Mention: Tony Bradford Jr. (DL), KeSean Carter (WR), Henry Colombi (Offensive Newcomer), DaMarcus Fields (DB), Eli Howard (DL), Riko Jeffers (LB), Krishon Merriweather (Defensive Newcomer, LB), Colin Schooler (LB), SaRodorick Thompson (RB), Weston Wright (OL).


Release provided by Texas Tech Athletics

Matt Dowdy

More about: