Hutchings named to Lombardi Trophy award watch list

HOUSTON – Texas Tech’s Jaylon Hutchings was announced as one of 80 players for the Lombardi Trophy preseason watch list, the organization announced on Tuesday. The award is annually presented to the college football offensive or defensive lineman who exemplifies the character and discipline of NFL Hall of Fame Head Coach Vince Lombardi in addition to outstanding performance and ability.

Hutchings’ nod for the Lombardi Trophy preseason watch list follows Monday’s news of the senior defensive tackle being named to the Bednarik Award watch list. Over the past two weeks, Hutchings has been named to four watch lists overall as he was tabbed to both the Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Outland Trophy preseason watch lists as well.

Hutchings enters 2023 as one of the most-experienced defensive linemen in the country entering his super-senior season with 46 career starts up front for the Red Raiders. Hutchings has totaled 149 career tackles, including 18.5 for a loss and 7.5 sacks. He is coming off his best season as a Red Raider with 50 stops in 2022 and 5.5 tackles that went for a loss.

To be considered for the Lombardi Award, players must be an NCAA FBS College Football team member and meet the following qualifications:
Be a down Lineman, end to end, either on offense or defense, setting up no further than ten (10) yards to the left or right of the ball at the time of the snap.
Be a Linebacker on defense, setting up no further than five (5) yards deep from the line of scrimmage.
Must not come out of the offensive backfield and set up on the line of scrimmage as a Blocker or a Receiver or listed in the program as an Offensive Back or Receiver.
Be eligible to participate in the current season.
The voting process will follow this schedule.
October 18 – 30, 2023: Vote to determine Semi-finalists.
November 1, 2023: Semi-finalists announcement
November 2 – 13, 2023: Vote to determine Four Finalists
November 15, 2023: Four Finalists announcement
November 17 – December 4, 2023: Final vote to determine the winner.
December 6, 2023: Lombardi Award Winner announced.
A mid-season watch list will be released on Oct 13 to reflect any updates to the current list.


Release provided by MATT BURKHOLDER Texas Tech Athletics

More about: