Texas Tech Announces Committed to Change Committee
Texac Tech Athlerics

LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech Athletics announced Thursday the members of its Committed to Change Committee that will be tasked with advancing the initial call to action items developed by the Black Student-Athlete Alliance (BSAA).

The committee will be chaired by Destini Walker, an assistant director for career and student-athlete development in the J.T. and Margaret Talkington Leadership Academy. She will be joined by Director of Athletics Kirby Hocutt, Faculty Athletics Representative Brian Shannon and the inaugural BSAA President D’Jenne Egharevba, among others.

“This committee will have a lasting effect on Texas Tech Athletics as we continue our conversation on providing a holistic experience for our student-athletes of color,” Hocutt said. “I can’t thank this group enough for their work on behalf of our student-athletes, and I look forward to the meaningful progress we will continue to make moving forward.”

The committee will also feature various Texas Tech and community leaders. Below is the full list:

  • Dr. Tyler Bradstreet, Director of Clinical and Sport Psychology for Texas Tech Athletics
  • Mike Davis, Assistant Director for Character and Student-Athlete Development in the J.T. and Margaret Talkington Leadership Academy as well as the BSAA advisor
  • Reggie Dial, President of 100 Black Men of West Texas organization
  • D’Jenne Egharevba, senior track and field student-athlete and BSAA President
  • Jessica Gray, Assistant Athletics Director for J.T. and Margaret Talkington Leadership Academy
  • Kirby Hocutt, Texas Tech Director of Athletics
  • Drew Ingraham, Associate Athletics Director for Communications and Marketing
  • Clark Lammert, former Red Raider men’s basketball student-athlete and now an Assistant Athletics Director in the Red Raider Club
  • Candice Laster, Director of the Learning Assistance Program, Marsha Sharp Center
  • Kevin McConic, Senior Management for Integrated Talent Management, Covenant Health System
  • Cory Powell, Director of the Office of Institutional Diversity, Texas Tech University
  • Brian Shannon, Horn Distinguished Professor at Texas Tech School of Law and Faculty Athletics Representative
  • Jade Silva Tovar, Senior Director, Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Texas Tech University
  • Destini Walker, Assistant Director for Career and Student-Athlete Development in J.T. and Margaret Talkington Leadership Academy

“I applaud Texas Tech Athletics for supporting our student-athletes and for working to address their concerns,” Powell said. “I believe that the formation of the Committed to Change Committee succinctly aligns with the university’s strategic priority to ‘educate and empower a diverse student body.’ These young adults are not just champions within their respective sports, they are likewise champions and rising leaders within our community and country.”

The BSAA has already established five calls to action that include reinforcing “all lives cannot matter until Black lives matter” and other racial and social justice issues; creating ongoing required educational trainings and workshops focused on racial and social injustice issues; making greater consideration in offseason scheduling for student-athletes; promoting holistic support of student-athletes as more than athletes; and an overall commitment to East Lubbock and the local Lubbock community.

The 14-person committee will serve as the support group behind the calls to action in order to achieve real results and continued growth towards a more diverse, equitable and inclusive community. The group has already split into subcommittees and will be meeting regularly to address each action item.


Release provided Texas Tech Athletics

More about: