City of Lubbock Announces Chief of Police Finalists and Public Meet & Greet

The City of Lubbock is pleased to announce the four finalists for Lubbock Chief of Police. The finalists, in alphabetical order, are:

Chief Glen Fowler. Fowler serves as the Chief of Police & Assistant Vice President of the Methodist Health System, Dallas, Texas. Chief Fowler began his career in Lubbock rising to the rank of Captain in the Lubbock Police Department, then serving as Deputy Chief for the Allen Police Department and Chief for the Watauga Police Department prior to joining the Methodist Health System Police Department as Chief.

Chief Seth Herman of Midland, TX. Herman began his career with the Midland Police Department as a Patrol Officer and has served as the Chief of Police since 2018.  He has 28 years of service to the Midland Police Department and community.

Deputy Chief Kenneth Myers of the Allen Police Department. Myers served as Police Officer/Detective for the Trophy Club, Westlake Department of Public Safety before joining the Allen Police Department in 2000. Myers became Deputy Chief over the Patrol Services Division in Allen in 2020.

Deputy Chief/First Deputy Chief Michael Smathers of Albuquerque, NM. Smathers served the Charlotte Mecklenburg Police Department for 25 years promoting to the rank of Major before joining the Albuquerque Police Department as its first outside Deputy Chief in 2019. Smathers currently serves as a Deputy Chief/First Deputy Chief.

These finalists are the results of an intensive, nationwide search.

The City will host a public meet & greet reception for these finalists on Thursday, April 25, 2024 from 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. at the Lubbock Memorial Civic Center Terrace Suite. All community members are welcome and encouraged to attend. Opportunities to provide feedback will be available.

The City will name the recommended finalist as soon as possible.

More about: