No. 14 Tech earns 22nd consecutive regional bid

INDIANAPOLIS — The No. 14 Texas Tech men’s golf team was selected on Wednesday to participate in the 2024 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships, announced live on the Golf Channel. The Red Raiders were placed in the Baton Rouge Regional as the 3-seed in a field of teams seeded one through 14.

The Baton Rouge Regional, May 13-15, hosted by LSU, will be played at The University Club in Baton Rouge, which is the 7,700-yard, par 72 home course for LSU Golf. The Tigers are the 7-seed in the event. Auburn enters as the 1-seed while Virginia is the 2-seed, ahead of the Red Raiders at No. 3.

The regional will be the 22nd consecutive appearance in the NCAA Tournament for Texas Tech under head coach Greg Sands, and the 25th overall for the men’s golf program. The Red Raiders will be seeking their fourth-straight NCAA Championship appearance, and 16th as a program, which is slated for May 24-29 at the Omni La Costa Champions Course in Carlsbad, Calif.

The Red Raiders had a dominant spring that included a three-event, one-month stretch where they earned two wins and one runner-up finish. Tech entered the spring season ranked No. 21 and rose as high as No. 5 in the national rankings on March 6. The Red Raiders enter the postseason at No. 14 via the May 1 Scoreboard powered by Clippd rankings.

Projected to return to the postseason from the 2023 team that advanced to nationals last season, who have been regulars in the 2024 lineups, are Calum Scott, Tyran Snyders and Matthew Comegys. Each is ranked inside the nation’s top 75 of individual players — Snyders (41), Comegys (65) and Scott (74).

All three own a sub-72 scoring average this season with Scott the team leader having a 70.9 average in 34 rounds, followed by Snyders with a 71.2 average in 34 rounds and Comegys with a 71.3 average over 31 rounds. Snyders owns a team-best four top-10 finishes this season while Comegys and Scott each own three top-10 finishes.

In total, the NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Committee announced 81 teams and 45 individuals for six different regional sites. Thirteen teams and 10 individuals (not on those teams) will compete at three of the six regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals (not on those teams). The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams will advance to the finals. Regional play at all six sites will take place May 13-15.

The national championships will be played May 24-29 at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa in Carlsbad, Calif. For more information on the event, visit

Baton Rouge Regional (May 13-15)
Teams (seeded in the following order):
Auburn [SEC]
Texas Tech
Ohio State
South Carolina
Lipscomb [ASUN]
Yale [Ivy League]
Loyola Maryland [Patriot League]
Arkansas-Pine Bluff [SWAC]
** conference names in brackets indicate automatic qualifiers that won their respective conference tournaments **

Individuals (seeded in the following order):
Alex Goff, Kentucky
Max Sturdza, Florida Atlantic
Niilo Maki-Petaja, Louisiana Tech
Hugo Thyr, South Alabama
Archie Smith, Little Rock


Release Provided By MATT BURKHOLDER Texas Tech Athletics

More about: