Covenant Medical Center Earns Silver Beacon Award for Excellence

The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) recently presented the Palliative Medicine Unit at Covenant Medical Center(CMC) a silver-level Beacon Award for Excellence.

The Beacon Award for Excellence — a significant milestone on the path to exceptional patient care and healthy work environments — recognizes unit caregivers who successfully improve patient outcomes and align practices with AACN’s six Healthy Work Environment Standards. Units that achieve this three-year, three-level award with a gold, silver or bronze designation meet national criteria consistent with the ANCC Magnet Recognition Program®, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and the National Quality Healthcare Award.

“At the heart of healthcare lives the concepts of human care and compassion,” said Daniel Hronek, Lubbock Service Area Chief Nursing Officer. “I am overwhelmed with gratitude, and I’m excited to celebrate our Palliative Care team for bringing honor to the profession and comfort to the community. Keep on leading the way. I am so proud of you!”

The Palliative Medicine Unit at CMC earned its silver award by meeting the following evidence-based Beacon Award for Excellence criteria:
· Leadership Structures and Systems
· Appropriate Staffing and Staff Engagement
· Effective Communication, Knowledge Management and Learning and Development
· Evidence-Based Practice and Processes
· Outcome Measurement

About Covenant Health:  

As the home of compassionate care and health excellence, it is Covenant Health’s vision to create Health for a Better World. Covenant Health is home to the only free-standing children’s hospital in West Texas, the only certified stroke center, and the best hospital in the Panhandle Plains region as voted by U.S. News & World Report. For more than 100 years our pioneering
spirit has been moving us forward, bringing world-class research and the most advanced treatments to West Texas and eastern New Mexico. Our connected health network of eight hospitals, and more than 6,000 caregivers allows us to provide our patients with the excellent care they deserve, with more locations, doctors, and specialists. To learn more about Covenant Health, please visit or our Facebook, LinkedIn, or Twitter, pages.

About the Beacon Award for Excellence:

Established in 2003, the Beacon Award for Excellence offers a road map to help guide exceptional care through improved outcomes and greater overall patient satisfaction. U.S. and Canadian units where patients receive their principal nursing care after hospital admission qualify for this excellence award. Units that receive the Beacon Award for Excellence meet criteria in six categories: leadership structures and systems; appropriate staffing and staff engagement; effective communication, knowledge
management, and learning and development; evidence-based practice and processes; and outcome measurement. To learn more, visit or call 800-899-2226.

About the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses: 

Founded in 1969 and based in Aliso Viejo, California, the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) is the largest
specialty nursing organization in the world. AACN represents the interests of more than half a million acute and critical care nurses and includes more than 200 chapters in the United States. The organization’s vision is to create a healthcare system driven by the needs of patients and their families in which acute and critical care nurses make their optimal contribution. To learn more about AACN, visit, connect with the organization on Facebook at or follow AACN on Twitter at


CMC Palliative Medicine Unit Covenant Health

More about: