McGuire hands out 2023 Team Awards

LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech head football coach Joey McGuire revealed the recipients of the team awards from the 2023 football season on Tuesday during a team meeting. The announcements were previously scheduled to be publicized at halftime during the Spring Game before weather forced the game to be held on campus inside the Sports Performance Center.

McGuire reestablished giving team awards just last season, a tradition at Texas Tech that is on record dating back to as early as 1961. Previous head coaches who handed out annual awards include JT King, Jim Carlen, Steve Sloan, Rex Dockery, Jerry Moore, David McWilliams, Spike Dykes and Mike Leach.

Texas Tech’s team awards are named after the likes of Pete Cawthon (Memorial Team MVP), Dell Morgan (Memorial Courage Award) and E.J. Holub (Double Tough Award), among others.

2023 Texas Tech Team Awards
Donny Anderson Sportsmanship Award: DB Dadrion Taylor-Demerson
J.T. King Award for Most Improved Offensive Player: WR Xavier White
J.T. King Award for Most Improved Defensive Player: LB Ben Roberts
Dare to be Great Award: OL Caleb Rogers
Clint Ramsey Academic Effort Award: QB Jake Strong & K Reese Burkhardt
E.J. Holub Double Tough Award: QB Behren Morton
Dell Morgan Memorial Courage Award: LB Bryce Ramirez
Pete Cawthon Memorial Team MVP: RB Tahj Brooks


Release Provided By MATT BURKHOLDER Texas Tech Athletics

More about: